Due to global production and fulfillment delays, customers may experience longer wait times. We are still shipping orders but current restrictions are impacting our delivery partners. Click here for more details.

Buried Country 1.5 (2CD)

In Stock
Expected delivery to Australia 4 - 5 business days (excludes preorders).

­NOTE: This item is not eligible for discounts/sales.
RELEASE DATE: 30th October, 2015

Festival Records and Warner Music Australia are proud to announce the October 30 release of a new and significantly different edition of the ground-breaking 2000 compilation Buried Country: The Story of Aboriginal Country Music, which was originally released in conjunction with a book and documentary of the same name. All formats were the work of author Clinton Walker, who has created this new edition  - Buried Country 1.5 - to accompany the new edition of his book. Hailed on publication as “an act of restitution” (Rhythms), and a work that “traces new pathways into the songlines of a hidden and resonant Australian musical history” (The Age), Buried Country has had a substantial cultural impact over the years, and will continue to do so with this new release and new developments in the new year.

Buried Country 1.5 features the key artists from the original 2CD set on the first disc together with a CD’s worth of more recent artists. It includes Archie Roach, Warumpi Band, Dan Sultan, Troy Cassar-Daley, Kev Carmody, Thelma Plum,  Vic Simms, Jimmy Little, Tom Lewis, Ruby Hunter, the Painted Ladies (with guest vocalists Paul Kelly and Ed Kuepper and others), as well as new liner notes by Clinton Walker and some beautiful new images.


1. Vic Simms - Get Back Into the Shadows
2. Jimmy Little - Shadow of the Boomerang
3. Black Allan Barker - Run Dingo Run
4. Lionel Rose - Jackson’s Track
5. Vic Simms - Hey Sheriff
6. Warumpi Band - Jailanguru Pakarnu
7. Mop and the Drop Outs - Brisbane Blacks
8. Kankawa Nagarra (Olive Knight) - Nyantu Yangka Parla Jarranyangany Ngarpuwu
9. Ali Mills - Watjim Bat Matilda
10. Maisie Kelly - My Home in the Valley
11. Kev Carmody - You Beautiful
12. Country Outcasts - Blue Gums Calling Me Back Home
13. Gus Williams - Old Aboriginal Stockman
14. Isaac Yamma - Pitjantjatjara Boy
15. Auriel Andrew - Ghost Gums
16. Roger Knox and Euraba - Koorie Rose
17. Tracey Lee Gray - Streets of Tamworth
18. Mac Silva - Malabar Mansion
19. Ruby Hunter - Women’s Business
20. Tiddas - In My Kitchen
21. Troy Cassar-Daley - Proud Young Man
22. Rug Cutters - Land Where the Crow Flies Backwards
23. Roger Knox and the Pine Valley Cosmonauts - Wayward Dreams
24. Lionel Rose - I Thank You
1. Pigram Brothers - Barefoot Kid
2. Naomi Pigram - Hurts to be Me
3. John Williamson with Warren H Williams - Raining on the Rock
4. Peter Brandy - Long Time Ago
5. Kutcha Edwards - Get Back Up Again
6. Dan Sultan - Old Fitzroy
7. L J Hill The - Pretty Bird Tree
8. Frank Yama - She Cried
9. Tom E Lewis - Two Dollar
10. John Bennett - Wangkaja
11. Sue Ray - Red Roses
12. Benny Walker - Time
13. Thelma Plum - Around Here
14. Leah Flanagan - September Song
15. Archie Roach - Big Black Train
16. Painted Ladies - Stranger in my Country
17. Glenn Skuthorpe - Great Beyonder
18. Jimmy Little - Yorta Yorta Man
19. Theona Councillor - Cover Me

NOTE: Album is released on October 30th, 2015 . Your order will ship with intention to arrive on release day. It is recommended that if you wish to purchase other products, you do so in a separate order as all items placed alongside this order will ship with this order. Any orders placed after October 1st risk late delivery.

* Mockups are not actual representations of preorder items - Actual items may vary.
* Shipping date subject to change.

All orders are generally sent within 4-5 business days once payment has been received, or, in the case of a pre order, when the product becomes available, however please allow up to 10 business days once payment has been received for us to send your order. If we are unable to deliver your order to you within 30 days of the date of your Order Confirmation, you will have the option to cancel the order and are entitled to receive a full refund. Shipping may occur after 5 days if a later shipping date is specified.
Return Policy:
All returns must be made within 14 business days of the ship date and any costs that you incur when sending the item back will be refunded to you. Refunds will not be given for the purchase of the wrong item, only store credit. Some returns may incur an extra shipping fee.

similar products
more from this artist

Spirit Of Akasha (Standard 2CD)
Quick Buy
PSYCHED: The Soundtrack To Your Surfing Life (CD)
Quick Buy
sold out
80 Hits Of The 80s (4CD)
Quick Buy
The Glory Days of Aussie Pub Rock Vol. 1 (4CD)
Quick Buy
sold out
The Angry Birds Movie (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Quick Buy
Running The Voodoo Down (2CD)
Quick Buy
sold out
Bad Boy Anniversary - Box Set Edition
Quick Buy
sold out
Back On The Streets again (2LP)
Quick Buy
get exclusive fan bundles in your inbox