Marnie: Super Deluxe Edition (Vinyl)


For the first time ever… From the Original Master Tapes… A Super-Deluxe Soundtrack Package featuring the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack to the 1964 Alfred J. Hitchcock Production.

2 x 180g ‘Scarlet’ Coloured Heavyweight 12” Vinyl LP’s, cut at 45rpm, and an Expanded ‘Vinyl’ Replica CD housed in a Scale-Copy of the Gatefold Sleeve – containing the Complete Score plus unused / alternate cues. Also included is an Exclusive 45rpm 2-Track 7” Black Vinyl Single featuring Nat King Cole’s rendition of the song ‘Marnie’ co-written by Bernard Herrmann c/w The Main Theme.

The set also includes 30” x 40” (762mm x 1016mm) newly commissioned British Quad Film Poster. The poster has been specially printed using original 1960s production processes – matching not only the poster weight of the time but also the correct machine folds (since film posters would be machine folded and inserted into large brown envelopes before arriving in the post at cinemas – this was before digital media, kids!). To round off the Super-Deluxe package Bernard Herrmann’s biographer, Steven C. Smith, offers a unique and compelling insight into this soundtrack with his own sleeve notes.

A 1964 American Psychological thriller from The Master of Suspense, Alfred Hitchcock, based upon the novel by Winston Graham and starring Tippi Hedren & Sean Connery. ‘Marnie’ sees Hedren’s anti-heroine, a thief with erythrophobia, blackmailed into marrying Sean Connery’s widower.

The last collaboration between director Alfred Hitchcock and composer Bernard Herrmann is not only recognised as one of the finest score’s Herrmann composed and recorded for their legendary partnership but also one of the greatest of all his works. Never-before-available ‘Marnie’ debuts in a stunning stereo master. The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack composed and conducted by Bernard Herrmann is released on 26th April 2019 in a Super-Deluxe soundtrack package by Stylotone working closely with the families of Alfred J. Hitchcock and Bernard Herrmann.

Track listing
A1. Prelude
A2. Marnie
A3. Forio
A4. Red Flowers
A5. The Shampoo
A6. The Bowl
A7. No. 9
A8. Want Ad
A9. The Stranger
A10. Red Ink
A11. The Drawer
B1. The Storm
B2. Red Jacket
B3. The Homestead
B4. Romance
B5. The Safe
B6. Encounter
B7. The Wedding
B8. The Porch
B9. The Checkbook
B10. The Bridal Suite
B11. The Cabin
B12. Alone
B13. The Shadow
C1. Love Scene
C2. The Pool
C3. Homecoming
C4. The Window
C5. Telephone
C6. The Horse
C7. The Nightmare
C8. The Book
C9. Mr Strutt (Film version)
C10. The Word Game
C11. The Hunt
D1. Forio’s Fall
D2. Forio’s Death
D3. The Stairs / The Keys / The Stairway
D4. The Dial
D5. The Money
D6. The Gun
D7. Departure
D8. The Street
D9. Flashback II
D10. Blood
D11. Farewell
D12. Finale
D13. Cast

[Additional CD tracks – in track sequence]
49. Flashback I (unused)
50. Mr Strutt (alternate)
51. Shock (unused)

Vinyl 7”
A1. Marnie Main Theme
B1. Nat King Cole – Marnie