Schumann: Cello Concerto & Chamber Music Works


Cellist Gautier Capuçon is the constant presence in this programme of music by Robert Schumann. In the Cello Concerto his partners are Bernard Haitink and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, and in a selection of chamber works his violinist brother Renaud and the pianist Martha Argerich. “Bernard Haitink is a wonderfully inspiring guide,” says Gautier, “and Martha Argerich carries me along on the composer’s waves of romanticism and passion.”

Cello Concerto in A minor Op. 129
1. Nicht zu schnell
2. Langsam (Adagio)
3. Sehr lebhaft (Vivace)
Adagio and Allegro Op. 70
4. Lamgsam, mit innigem Ausdruck
5. Rasch und Feurig
Fantasiestücke Op. 73
6. Zart und mit Ausdruck
7. Lebhaft, leicht
8. Rasch und mit Feuer
Fünf Stücke im Volkston Op. 102
9. Mit Humor ‘Vanitas vanitatum’
10. Langsam
11. Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen
12. Nicht zu rasch
13. Stark und markiert
Fantasiestücke Op. 88
14. Romanze: Nicht schnell, mit innigen Ausdruck
15. Humoreske: Lebhaft
16. Duett: Langsam und mit Ausdruck
17. Finale: Im Marsch-Tempo