1974-1979 (5CD)

NOTE: This item is not eligible for discounts/sales.
RELEASE DATE: 27th March, 2015

The Bee Gees rank among the most successful pop groups of all time and have earned every music-industry award imaginable. They are members of both The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Songwriters Hall of Fame and winners of seven GrammyŇ Awards. On February 7, The Recording Academy will present the band with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

After setting the standard for pop harmonies in the Sixties, brothers Barry, Robin and Maurice Gibb rose to even greater heights during the Seventies with a long string of hits that drew upon their shared love for R&B.

The group's transformation into a global phenomenon is retraced with a five-disc collection that includes four of the Bee Gee's studio albums, along with a selection of songs from the multi-Grammy-winning soundtrack to Saturday Night Fever (1977), plus b-sides and outtakes from that era. Presented in a clamshell box, BEE GEES: 1974-1979 will be available March 27.

The collection begins with the group's 12th album, Mr. Natural (1974), the first of many the Bee Gees would record with Grammy-winning producer Arif Mardin. Among the highlights are the soulful "Throw A Penny" and the power ballad "Charade." The group returned a year later with Main Course (1975), which featured the #1 smash "Jive Talkin'" and the hits "Nights On Broadway" and "Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)."

The group's 14th album Children of the World (1976) rose even higher on the Billboard album chart, peaking at #8, and earning platinum certification. Produced by the band, the album featured several hits: "You Should Be Dancing" (#1), "Love So Right" (#3) and "Boogie Child" (#12).

The Bee Gees began recording music for a follow-up album, but ultimately many of those songs would appear on the soundtrack to Saturday Night Fever, which spent 24 weeks at #1 and sold more than 15 million copies in the U.S. alone. A selection of the group's soundtrack contributions appear here on a bonus disc dubbed "The Miami Years." Also featured on this disc are several b-sides - "It Doesn't Matter Much To Me" and "Rest Your Love On Me" - along with a number of other tracks from the era, including "Emotion," "Warm Ride" and "(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away," making the collection a complete look at the trio's output during these years.

The final studio album included in BEE GEES: 1974-1979 is Spirits Having Flown (1979). It reached #1 on the album charts in America, Australia and throughout Europe, was certified 4x platinum in the U.S., and spawned three #1 singles: "Too Much Heaven," "Tragedy" and "Love You Inside Out." Those three chart toppers completed an uninterrupted run of six consecutive #1 hits, a feat that matched a record set by the Beatles in the early Sixties.

THE BEE GEES: 1974-1979
Track Listing

Mr. Natural (1974)
1. "Charade"
2. "Throw A Penny"
3. "Down The Road"
4. "Voices"
5. "Give A Hand, Take A Hand"
6. "Dogs"
7. "Mr. Natural"
8. "Lost In Your Love"
9. "I Can't Let You Go"
10. "Heavy Breathing"
11. "Had A Lot Of Love Last Night"

Main Course (1975)
1. "Nights On Broadway"
2. "Jive Talkin'"
3. "Wind Of Change"
4. "Songbird"
5. "Fanny (Be Tender With My Love):
6. "All This Making Love"
7. "Country Lanes"
8. "Come On Over"
9. "Edge Of The Universe"
10. "Baby As You Turn Away"

Children of the World (1976)
1. "You Should Be Dancing"
2. "You Stepped Into My Life"
3. "Love So Right"
4. "Lovers"
5. "Can't Keep A Good Man Down"
6. "Boogie Child"
7. "Love Me"
8. "Subway"
9. "The Way It Was"
10. "Children Of The World"

Spirits Having Flown (1979)
1. "Tragedy"
2. "Too Much Heaven"
3. "Love You Inside Out"
4. "Reaching Out"
5. "Spirits (Having Flown)"
6. "Search, Find"
7. "Stop (Think Again)"
8. "Living Together"
9. "I'm Satisfied"
10. "Until"

The Miami Years (Bonus Disc)
1. "Stayin' Alive"
2. "How Deep Is Your Love"
3. "Night Fever"
4. "More Than A Woman"
5. "Emotion"
6. "Warm Ride"
7. "(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away"
8. "If I Can't Have You"
9. "Rest Your Love On Me"
10. "It Doesn't Matter Much To Me"
11. "Stayin' Alive" (Promo 12" Version)

NOTE: Album is released in March 27th, 2015. Your order will ship with intention to arrive on release day. It is recommended that if you wish to purchase other products, you do so in a separate order as all items placed alongside this order will ship with this order. Any orders placed after March 1st risk late delivery.

Related Items