Infinite Tuesday: Autobiographical Riffs (CD)


Item: CD

The set flows in mostly chronological order, beginning in 1965 when Nesmith recorded “The New Recruit” using the pseudonym Michael Blessing. Monkee-mania took over a year later and he spent the next four years making history and music with the quartet. Two songs by the Monkees included here neatly bookend Nesmith’s tenure in the group, with “Papa Gene’s Blues” from the band’s 1966 self-titled debut, and “Listen To The Band” from The Monkees Present (1970), Nesmith’s last album with group for more than 20 years.

The collection focuses mainly on the numerous solo albums that Nesmith recorded during the Seventies.  He started in 1970 with Magnetic South and Loose Salute, country-rock albums that featured Nesmith and The First National Band, a group he collaborated with for several years. INFINITE TUESDAY features a song from each album: “Silver Moon” from Loose Salute and “Joanne” from Magnetic South, Nesmith’s first Top 40 hit as a solo artist. 


  1. The New Recruit - Michael Blessing
  2. Papa Gene's Blues - The Monkees
  3. Different Drum
  4. The Girl I Knew Somewhere - First Recorded Version/Stereo Remix
  5. Listen To The Band - Single Version
  6. Joanne
  7. Silver Moon
  8. Some Of Shelly's Blues
  9. Opening Theme - Life, The Unsuspecting Captive
  10. Rio
  11. Crusin
  12. Light
  13. Laugh Kills Lonesome
  14. Rays