John Prine Box Set

Crooked Piece Of Time: The Atlantic & Asylum Albums (1971 – 1980)

Regular price $90.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $90.00 AUD


One of the most celebrated singer/songwriters of his generation – and recipient of the Grammy’s 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award – John Prine was a master storyteller whose work was often witty and always heartfelt, frequently offering a sly but sincere reflection of his Midwestern American roots. While Prine's songs were often rooted in folk and country flavors, he was no stranger to rock & roll, R&B, and rockabilly, and he readily adapted his rough but expressive voice to his musical surroundings. His songs were recorded by a long list of well-respected artists, including Joan Baez, Johnny Cash, Bonnie Raitt, Kris Kristofferson, Carly Simon, George Strait, Norah Jones, John Denver, Miranda Lambert, The Everly Brothers, Bette Midler, Paul Westerberg, Tammy Wynette and Dwight Yoakam.

7-CD boxed set – John Prine (1971), Diamonds In The Rough (1972), Sweet Revenge (1973), Common Sense (1975), Bruised Orange (1978), Pink Cadillac (1979) and Storm Windows (1980)

Release date: 23rd October, 2020

Track listing

John Prine

1. Illegal Smile
2. Spanish Pipedream
3. Hello in There
4. Sam Stone
5. Paradise
6. Pretty Good
7. Your Flag Decal Won't Get You into Heaven Anymore
8. Far from Me
9. Angel from Montgomery
10. Quiet Man
11. Donald and Lydia
12. Six O'Clock News
13. Flashback Blues
Diamonds In The Rough

1. Everybody
2. The Torch Singer
3. Souvenirs
4. The Late John Garfield Blues
5. Sour Grapes
6. Billy the Bum
7. The Frying Pan
8. Yes I Guess They Oughta Name a Drink After You
9. Take the Star out of the Window
10. The Great Compromise
11. Clocks and Spoons
12. Rocky Mountain Time
13. Diamonds in the Rough

Sweet Revenge

1. Sweet Revenge
2. Please Don't Bury Me
3. Christmas in Prison
4. Dear Abby
5. Blue Umbrella
6. Often Is a Word I Seldom Use
7. Onomatopoeia
8. Grandpa Was a Carpenter
9. The Accident (Things Could be Worse)
10. Mexican Home
11. A Good Time
12. Nine Pound Hammer

Common Sense

1. Middle Man
2. Common Sense
3. Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard
4. Wedding Day in Funeralville
5. Way Down
6. My Own Best Friend
7. Forbidden Jimmy
8. Saddle in the Rain
9. That Close to You
10. He Was in Heaven Before He Died
11. You Never Can Tell

Bruised Orange

1. Fish and Whistle
2. There She Goes
3. If You Don't Want My Love
4. That's the Way That the World Goes 'Round
5. Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)
6. Sabu Visits the Twin Cities Alone
7. Aw Heck
8. Crooked Piece of Time
9. Iron Ore Betty
10. The Hobo Song

Pink Cadillac

1. Chinatown
2. Automobile
3. Killing The Blues
4. No Name Girl
5. Saigon
6. Cold War (This Cold War With You)
7. Baby Let's Play House
8. Down By The Side Of The Road
9. How Lucky
10. Ubangi Stomp

Storm Windows

1. Shop Talk
2. Living in the Future
3. It’s Happening to You
4. Sleepy Eyed Boy
5. All Night Blue
6. Just Wanna Be With You
7. Storm Windows
8. Baby Ruth
9. One Red Rose
10. I Had a Dream


All orders are generally sent within 4-5 business days once payment has been received, or, in the case of a pre order, when the product becomes available, however please allow up to 10 business days once payment has been received for us to send your order. If we are unable to deliver your order to you within 30 days of the date of your Order Confirmation, you will have the option to cancel the order and are entitled to receive a full refund. Shipping may occur after 5 days if a later shipping date is specified.

Return policy

All returns must be made within 14 business days of the ship date and any costs that you incur when sending the item back will be refunded to you. Refunds will not be given for the purchase of the wrong item, only store credit. Some returns may incur an extra shipping fee.