Pretenders 12" Vinyl

Relentless [1LP Baby Pink]

Regular price $50.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $50.00 AUD


The Pretenders return with the announcement of ‘Relentless’, their fourteenth studio album, due for release 15th September 2023 via Parlophone

‘Relentless’ is a clearly defined snapshot of where The Pretenders are in 2023. Arriving with the impulsiveness and attitude that at once defines the band’s eternal spirit, brand new single ‘Let The Sun Come In’ is also released today, following a premiere on the BBC Radio 2 Zoe Ball Breakfast Show. Listen here.

 Speaking about the album title, Chrissie Hynde said:

 “I enjoy seeing the various meanings and origins of a word. And I liked the definition: “showing no abatement of intensity”. It’s the life of the artist. You never retire. You become relentless.”

 The news arrives as The Pretenders look ahead to a massive summer of live performances. Tomorrow night, Friday 12th May, the band will unleash new songs from ‘Relentless’ as they headline Brighton’s Great Escape Festival, starting a sold out tour of very special exclusive club shows visiting some of the UK and Ireland’s most intimate venues.

 On 30th June The Pretenders will join Guns N’ Roses as special guests at London’s BST Hyde Park, and at huge outdoor shows in Spain, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and the Netherlands, before headline performances at summer festivals including Midnight Sun, Bearded Theory, Black Deer and Kite. In October the band will land in America to play Ohana Festival, California, by invitation of Eddie Vedder and Dave Grohl. More 2023 live activity is soon to be announced.

 ‘Relentless’ is the second consecutive Pretenders album to be written as a collaboration between Chrissie Hynde and the band’s resident guitar hero, James Walbourne. Especially sought after in his own right, having recorded with Dave Gahan, Jerry Lee Lewis and The Rails amongst many more.

 Speaking about the Hynde/Walbourne songwriting process, Chrissie Hynde said:

 “We had developed this method of working remotely and it seemed like we just kept on doing it for this album. This is something that we’ve honed down to an art in the last few years. He always comes up with something I wouldn’t have thought of myself and I love surprises.”

 Produced by David Wrench and recorded at Battery Studios in West London, the album’s 12 tracks feature what Chrissie describes as “The Pretenders Collective”. This extended band features James Walbourne (guitars), Kris Sonne (drums), Chris Hill (double bass), Dave Page (bass) and Carwyn Ellis (keyboards and guitars).

 ‘Relentless’ also features a long hoped-for collaboration with the esteemed composer Jonny Greenwood (Radiohead, The Smile), who provides the string arrangement and conducted the 12 Ensemble for the album’s beautiful closing track, ‘I Think About You Daily’.

 ‘Relentless’ is The Pretenders’ first album to be released via Warner Brothers - Parlophone’s parent record label - since 1999. After first signing to small independent label Real Records on the back of the heyday of punk rock, The Pretenders’ first single led them to sign with Sire - whose parent company was also Warner Brothers - via legendary A&R Seymour Stein, a partnership lasting 20 years.

 And now in 2023 and The Pretenders are back at their live and brilliant best - the upcoming ‘Relentless’ tour follows a handful of very intimate shows played earlier this year for Independent Venue Week. Fans were treated to a glimpse of as yet unreleased new music as The Guardian confirmed, “Hynde’s songwriting is as sharp as ever, with new songs stealing the limelight from classic hits

‘Relentless’ Tracklist

 Losing My Sense Of Taste

  1. A Love
  2. Domestic Silence
  3. The Copa
  4. Promise Of Love
  5. Merry Widow
  6. Let The Sun Come In
  7. Look Away
  8. Your House Is On Fire
  9. Just Let It Go
  10. Vainglorious
  11. I Think About You Daily


All orders are generally sent within 4-5 business days once payment has been received, or, in the case of a pre order, when the product becomes available, however please allow up to 10 business days once payment has been received for us to send your order. If we are unable to deliver your order to you within 30 days of the date of your Order Confirmation, you will have the option to cancel the order and are entitled to receive a full refund. Shipping may occur after 5 days if a later shipping date is specified.

Return policy

All returns must be made within 14 business days of the ship date and any costs that you incur when sending the item back will be refunded to you. Refunds will not be given for the purchase of the wrong item, only store credit. Some returns may incur an extra shipping fee.