David Bowie CD
Sold out

The Width Of A Circle (CD)

Regular price $50.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $50.00 AUD


This week sees the 50th anniversary of the original U.K. release of The Man Who Sold The World David Bowie’s landmark entry into the 1970s. The album not only began the collaboration with guitarist Mick Ronson that would continue with such Bowie classics as Hunky Dory, Ziggy Stardust and Aladdin Sane, it kicked off a 10-year run of indispensable albums stretching through 1980’s Scary Monsters.

The 2020 re-release of The Man Who Sold The World restored the album’s intended title Metrobolist, while featuring a new mix by original producer Tony Visconti. Taking its name from the album’s opening track, which was named after a painting by Bowie’s friend George Underwood, the new two-CD set The Width Of A Circle acts as a complementary piece to that album. Its 21 tracks feature non-album singles, a BBC In Concert l session, music for a TV play and further Visconti remixes wrapping up David’s recordings from 1970 and revealing the first sonic steps toward Hunky Dory.


CD 1:
Recorded on 5th February, 1970 and broadcast on 8th February, 1970
1. Amsterdam *
2. God Knows I’m Good *
3. Buzz The Fuzz
4. Karma Man
5. London Bye, Ta-Ta
6. An Occasional Dream
7. The Width Of A Circle*
8. Janine
9. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
10. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed*
11. Fill Your Heart
12. The Prettiest Star
13. Cygnet Committee*
14. Memory Of A Free Festival*

CD 2:
1. When I Live My Dream
2. Columbine
3. The Mirror
4. Threepenny Pierrot
5. When I Live My Dream (Reprise)
6. The Prettiest Star (Alternative Mix)
7. London Bye, Ta-Ta*
8. London Bye, Ta-Ta (1970 Stereo Mix)*
9.Memory Of A Free Festival (Single Version Part 1)*
10. Memory Of A Free Festival (Single Version Part 2)*
11. Holy Holy*
12. Waiting For The Man
13. The Width Of A Circle
14. The Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud*
15. The Supermen*
2020 MIXES
16. The Prettiest Star (2020 Mix)
17. London Bye, Ta-Ta (2020 Mix)
18. Memory Of A Free Festival (Single Version - 2020 Mix)
19. All The Madmen (Single Edit 2020 Mix)
20. Holy Holy (2020 Mix)

(*denotes previously released)


All orders are generally sent within 4-5 business days once payment has been received, or, in the case of a pre order, when the product becomes available, however please allow up to 10 business days once payment has been received for us to send your order. If we are unable to deliver your order to you within 30 days of the date of your Order Confirmation, you will have the option to cancel the order and are entitled to receive a full refund. Shipping may occur after 5 days if a later shipping date is specified.

Return policy

All returns must be made within 14 business days of the ship date and any costs that you incur when sending the item back will be refunded to you. Refunds will not be given for the purchase of the wrong item, only store credit. Some returns may incur an extra shipping fee.